Motherhood

Benjamin turns one at the end of the month and I find myself reflecting on this past year and how motherhood has changed me. Having Ben has made me so much stronger and yet so much more vulnerable at times. I’m not going to sugar coat anything – becoming a parent has been so challenging, tough, exhausting and just hard. But it’s also been totally breathtaking…I mean, Ben literally takes my breath away. When he’s quietly playing in his room and mumbling to himself, I will spy on him from behind the wall and I just stop breathing for a second or two because I can’t believe this little nugget is ours.

I came across this really wise phrase: Your children will always follow your example, not your advice. I’m going to hold this saying close to me because it makes me think twice about my choices. I want to be a good mom to Ben, set healthy examples, and ultimately raise a child who is resilient, strong, caring, sympathetic and compassionate.

I love you, my darling Ben. Thank you for teaching me how to be a better human being each and every day.

photo(5)

Leave a Reply

