Melissa Davis of Ruby PR

Melissa Davis is the beautiful and talented founder of Ruby Press, a boutique public relations agency in San Francisco that represents style-driven businesses. Some of her clients include: iomoi, Chewing the Cud, Gilt City and Viv & Ingrid. Cute, cute, cute, right? I am a huge fan of the Ruby Press blog and just love Melissa’s bright and fresh style. She was such a doll to participate in my Q&A series. Thank you!

Hi Melissa. Thank you so much for doing this. How would you describe your sense of style? Who are some of your favorite designers and what’s a typical go-to uniform? My life is so busy, I keep my wardrobe simple.  I wear a mix of JCrew, vintage, and pieces I pick up at local boutiques.  In the summer, my go-to outfits are dresses (so easy!), which vary from vintage cotton Victorian dressing gowns worn with leather sandals to bohemian cotton dresses from Keri Cassill and Matta.  My closet is packed with Indian block-printed kurtas from our client Rikshaw Design- I’m a little obsessed.  I love vintage jewelry and my handbags are often very simple (tote bag shapes) in canvas or yummy leather.  I guess I would call my style kind of preppy New England meets California bohemian.

Working in PR means being organized. Do you use any special kinds of planners, notebooks, etc to help you stay on track with your clients?  I have to stay organized, and now that I have a 7 month old baby, my life has gotten even more hectic.  I got an iPad for Christmas and have started using that calendar instead of just my daily “to-do” notebook and wall calendar.  The paper calendars have always worked beautifully for me, but now that I sometimes work from my home office and not just the Ruby Press office I need to have one calendar with everything in it that I can have in my bag at all times.

Describe a typical (if that even exists) workday for you at the office. There really is no typical day- but it’s rare I have a day when I can work from the office all day long.  I usually have a meeting- at least one, if not more- during the day.  What’s a constant?  LOTS of emails, phone calls, strategizing on behalf of our clients, and overseeing our staff.  The day always speeds by.

If I wasn’t working in PR, I’d be …owning a vintage style candy store or a boutique of some kind.

My favorite pair of shoes is … a tie between two- the pink peep toe Prada heels a friend bought for me in Milan (I wore them at our wedding!) and a pair of Marni turquoise/white pony skin clogs that I sadly sold at a consignment store in NYC years ago.  I still think about them!

When I’m packing for trips, I always bring … way too many clothes and pairs of shoes!  I tried under-packing once and it was horrible.  Never again.

If you opened my handbag, you’d find … several pairs of sunglasses, my prescription eyeglasses (vintage deadstock), a Cath Kidston makeup bag busting at the seams, a hot pink quilted Kate Spade wallet, some kind of gum, a burp cloth, my iPhone and iPad (protected by my monogrammed iomoi iPad case).

My most recent splurge was … a hand made leather mask to wear to the SF Symphony’s Masked Ball.

My favorite meal is …the crispy shrimp tacos at Cactus Tacqueria in Berkeley.

At the top of my wish list right now is… a new underwire one piece swimsuit.  As soon as it gets warm, I get so excited about summer and always want new swimsuits.  (Which I most certainly do not need.)

Leave a Reply

