Taryn Cox the Wife

It’s been quite awhile since my last post and I’m almost embarrassed. Thank goodness I have some amazing guest Q+As sitting in my queue. Check out my fun interview with the incredibly fabulous Taryn Cox of Taryn Cox the Wife. I first learned of Taryn while reading about her in Elle Magazine and she was so gracious to answer some of my questions. I’m a huge fan of her style and because of her, I bought myself a pair of Sperry Topsider boat shoes – so cute – which I wear all the time now. Enjoy!

Describe a typical day’s worth of eats (breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks)

After my morning run I come in for the classic toast and tea. I’ve become obsessed with fig jam and Mighty Tea Leaf’s Tropical Green Tea. Its such a wining combination and has turned into a comfort I look forward to every morning.

For Lunch I try to stay very healthy by sticking to veggies…. I’ve been hooked on Tender Greens “Happy Vegan Salad” and Joan’s on Third’s ‘Brussel Sprout Salad’ or any of their pureed soups. Another quick and easy fix for lunch is the sushi (I ask for it to be made with brown rice instead) from Whole Foods Market .

For pick me up Snacks, I loved individual pre packed cashews, Bellweather Farm’s strawberry yogurt, Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups or a Casadian Farms chocolate chip granola bars.

For a quick caffeine jilt around the 3pm energy slump I love Inko’s white apricot tea’s (So tasty and only 40 Calories!) or an organic cafe au lait from Le Pain Quotidian or a delicious Spanish Latte from Urth Cafe.

Dinner tends to be out with friends.

How do you stay in shape?

I start every morning off with a run through my neighborhood park. Its the best way to get energy, connect with nature and get your day going. I also go to Bar Method twice a week and in addition alternate between ballet class, games of tennis, hiking and swimming laps depending on the weather and season.

Who are some of your favorite fashion designers?

I just adore John Galliano for Christian Dior Haute Couture, He creates stunning pieces that resemble the most beautiful vintage designs mixed with a modern influence, its a perfect concoction of couture. Oscar de la Renta is Traditional Designer who always produces amazing gowns for sophisticated ladies and elegant evenings out. And of course Karl Lagerfeld for Chanel is instant classic and favorite. I also love Philip Lim for everyday, I cannot walk into his store without finding and buying a new favorite sweater or dress. His Clothes are well made with very reasonable price tags.

Describe your fashion style and a typical outfit

Refined, high end and old school charm. I try to stay consistent by dressing classic pieces with a European influence and elegance. Even in the Winter months I’m always in a dress with tights or cashmere socks and boots paired with a cashmere cardigan, my Burberry trench or Fur vest.

What’s on your current wish list?

Cartier Tank Rose Gold and Brown Leather Watch

Hermes Constance Elan Bag

An iPod Touch

Tickets to The LAPhil to see Dudamel conduct Tchaikovsky

1940’s Vintage Perfume Bottles

First Edition: The Art of French Cooking Cookbook and Mrs. Beeton’s  Housekeeping Handbook

Thomas Keller’s Bouchon Cookbook

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day Novel

American Wife Novel

Kai Perfume

Diptyque Figueroa Scented Candles

An assortment of Doughnuts Delivered from Sublime Doughnuts in Atlanta (I hear they are the best!)

Favorite restaurant: Terroni for their scrumptious pizza margarita.

Favorite hair salon: Patrick at Salon 9022

Favorite workout spot: Bar Method West Hollywood. I love classes with Jessie, She’s Hysterical

Favorite thing to do on a weekend: Hiking in Pacific Palisades, Brunch at Tavern in Brentwood, Movies at The Arclight Cinemas and Concerts at The Hollywood Bowl. I also love weekend getaways to Newport to spend time with my family, we always go for walks in the Harbor at Sunset or My mom and I sew dresses and go for Sunday dinner at True Foods in Fashion Island.

3 comments
  1. I LOVE the Article! Thank you for posting! xoxox

  2. I LOVE the article! Thank You for Posting!

    Miss Taryn XXOO

Leave a Reply

