Holiday Decor

One of my favorite things about the holidays is entertaining. I’m no Martha Stewart, but I have such a grand time decorating our reclaimed wood dining table with blooms and preparing a marvelous meal for my cherished friends and family. I’ve been as sick as a dog all week (thanks sinus infection!) and had no time to go and purchase flowers, table settings, etc. Only today was I feeling semi back to normal and thanks to a quick Style File segment on Good Day LA, I knew exactly how I wanted to decorate our table.

Here is the snapshot that inspired me, from Floral Art LA in Venice, CA. As you can see (or maybe not, since I took a picture of the television and it’s a bit blurred), owner Jennifer McGarigle uses deep plum calla lilies and plums to decorate her pristine white table.

I took this idea and re-adjusted it so that it was a budget-friendly plan. First off, calla lilies were nowhere to be found (plus, they’re super pricey!) so I went to Trader Joes and got some beautiful yellow gerber daisies that were on sale for $4.99 per bunch. I bought three. Then, to match their sunshine hues, I picked up three packs of sweet lemons. Sweet, because they were much more vibrant, shiny and glossy than the regular tart lemons on sale. I did buy a white tablecloth in hopes of copying the table I saw on TV but someone stuck a round tablecloth in my packet that was meant for a rectangular table. Grrrr. Too lazy to go back to TJ Maxx to return the product, I settled on using our old runner going down the middle of the table and set out my new round placemats. I also bought two small vases from Trader Joes to hold the floating candles. It took me about 20 minutes to put this entire table setting together. Not bad, eh? Whoever said Christmas decor has to be red/green? I say it should be…whatever is handy and cheap 😀

Leave a Reply

