New Blog, New Meal

I have found a new favorite blog that I’m in love with. It belongs to a lovely girl named Jessica who I used to work with, and her blog is filled with fashion, food and great recipes. Her recipes look so good that I decided to try one out tonight at the last minute: Bang Bang Shrimp. Tonight is Tuesday, which usually consists of something picked up at the market or take-out from a local eatery. But instead of the expected I thought I would do something special since A) the Lakers are playing and B) it’s the first Tuesday in awhile that LOST is not on TV (did anyone catch the finale, by the way?) You can check out Jessica’s blog, LUALOSANGELES, here. I love her photography and genius recipes. It makes my mouth water all the time!

Jessica’s recipe for Bang Bang Shrimp is creamy, spicy and so flavorful (thanks mayo!) It borders Chinese tasting without the salt and MSG side effects you would normally get at a Chinese restaurant. So here you go, courtesy of LUALOSANGELES.

  • 16 Medium Shrimp, peeled and deveined (the market only had 13 shrimp left – oh well)
  • 1/2 Cup Mayonnaise
  • 6 tsp Sweet Thai Chili Sauce
  • 3 tsp Sriracha sauce
  • 2 tsp Rice vinegar
  • 1 Cup Milk (I used Coconut Milk instead that I got from Whole Foods)
  • 1 Cup Panko Bread Crumbs (I eyeballed this and added more towards the end)
  • 1/2 Cup Corn Starch
In a bowl combine mayonnaise, sweet thai chili sauce, sriracha chili sauce and rice vinegar. Whisk together until will combined, set aside.

Soak shrimp in bowl with milk. Prepare a bowl with panko bread crumbs and another with corn starch.  Dredge the shrimp in the corn starch, then again in the milk and finally in the panko bread crumbs, set aside.

Heat a large skillet of oil until it reaches 300 degrees. Drop shrimp in and fry until golden brown. By the way, watch out for the hot oil that may splatter around. I got resourceful and grabbed my sunglasses to protect my eyes. Remove from oil with a slotted spoon.  Drain fried shrimp on plate lined with paper towels. In a large bowl combine fried shrimp with prepared sauce until evenly coated.

I served this alongside an asian style salad I made with green beans fresh from our garden, 1/4 avocado, 1/2 sliced cucumber, and leftover brown rice. I then made a dressing of rice vinegar, olive oil, soy sauce, and agave syrup. I made it this morning so the salad marinated well over 10 hours and was a crisp refreshing side to the creamy spicy shrimp.

Leave a Reply

