Awesome Weekend

It’s early evening on Sunday and I’m sitting here watching I Love Lucy with the two dogs, Guido Burrito and Kihei Fuy (pronounced foo-eey) next to me asleep. Chris is at a neighborhood watch meeting and I’m feeling super lazy and tired so decided to catch up on posting after someone (Dave, I’m talking to you) brought up the fact that the blog has been slacking BIG TIME. Thanks for the kick in the butt, Dave, I needed it!

Here’s a rundown of what I ate this weekend:

japanese seaweed salad

My japanese seaweed salad. I’m obsessed with the seaweed salad at the japanese restaurants so re-created my own for lunch. I bought a package of Sea Tangle mixed sea veggies from Whole Foods (make sure to rinse this over and over again because there is A TON of salt in there to keep the seaweed fresh. Trust me, if you don’t wash and rinse it enough, it will taste disgusting) and mixed it with sliced cucumber, sliced carrot, a handful of mung beans, sliced bell pepper, and sliced avocado. Then I doused it with white sesame seeds and added a homemade dressing:

4 tablespoons of brown rice vinegar

2 tablespoons of white regular sugar

3 tablespoons of soy sauce

Combine the vinegar, sugar, and soy sauce in a small saucepan over medium heat until the sugar dissolves, then remove from the pan from the heat, allow to cool and then refrigerate to chill.

coconut rice with ginger

I am totally craving asian food this weekend so I made a batch of coconut ginger rice. Who knew it could be so easy?! I put about 1/2 cup of mixed brown and white sweet mochi rice in the rice cooker, and poured in a whole can of coconut milk (yes, very rich and very delicious) and then added some sliced ginger pieces. Let the rice cooker do its job and you’ll have steaming, slightly sticky, slightly sweet rice. Mmmmm….

sweet potato croquettes

I was feeling adventurous so I made a batch of sweet potato croquettes. I planned on following a recipe but wound up doing my own thing. First, I boiled two large sweet potatoes and then mashed them up when they were cooked through and soft enough. To the mix, I added one egg and some pepper and a pinch of nutmeg. Then I shaved in some parmesan (about 1/3 cup) and rolled the mixture into individual balls. I then dipped each ball into regular flour, then into a beaten egg, then into a bowl of light bread crumbs. Bake for about 25 minutes at 375 degrees and you’ve got some nice little sweet potato croquettes awaiting you! I served them on top of my ginger coconut rice with a small dish of Thai sweet chili sauce. Mmmm mmm mmm!

ines rosales tortas

This morning, breakfast was simple and utterly delicious! Every time I have gone to Bristol Farms, I noticed a package of artisan tortas on the shelf and was always intrigued. I finally broke down today and purchased a pack. OMG. Soooo freakin good! I always equated “torta” with the Mexican sandwich but this is a different kind of “torta” from Spain. It’s like a thin, crispy, slightly sweet, and perfectly spiced pita bread that has been baked. It’s not as thick as a pita but not as thin as a wafer or regular cracker. The one I got was speckled with anise seed and a little sugar and it was like having dessert for breakfast, but only better because it was light yet tasty. Perfect with a cup of coffee or tea, I would just eat it alone so not to disturb the original taste. It’s pricey – $5.99 for 6 tortas – but well worth it if you like artisan style food products. Check out the tortas, named Ines Rosales tortas, on her website.

I also made Chris a breakfast burrito with ground turkey meat, leftover rice, scrambled eggs, and sour cream wrapped up in a giant tortilla from Trader Joe’s. Served alongside – what else!? – bacon! Duh….

Lunch was another seaweed salad only this time I added sauteed spinach that had been chilled in the fridge and a scoop of sweet mochi rice. I doused it with a homemade peanut dressing (peanut butter, water, lemon juice, garlic, minced ginger, soy sauce) and sesame seeds.

I also took a nap (can you see me? I’m in the hammock passed out) with Kihei passed out on the floor.

Speaking of passed out…

I am fondly referring to Kihei as “boss lady” since she’s been dominating poor Guido. Here she is in his bed, asleep.

2 comments
  1. sissy said:

    now i am jealous. why can’t i sleep all the time wherever i want?

  2. Love all your dishes!! Looks so yummy!!! I miss the salad from Raw Bar in Bondi now! I swear…you would die over it!
    Kihei is such a cutie ball! Love her!

Leave a Reply

