Cravings for Asian

I’m PMSing. Plain and simple. But I’ll get to that later.

I went to the gym at 6:30 am this morning and got an awesome 3.5 mile run/walk in. I used to be panting like mad when I ran at a 5.8 speed for more than 10 minutes (around a month and a half ago) and now I can go for 20 minutes without stopping at 6.2!! Crazy cool! The human body is amazing, isn’t it? After the treadmill, I did some shoulder and ab work. I keep forgetting to bookmark certain strength moves in my fitness magazines. I need to do this so I go into the gym with a focused plan on which exact moves I plan on doing. Oh well, next time.

I skipped breakfast but made Chris a yummy wrap with eggs, melted cheese, and sausage in the spinach tortilla. Is this not the most awesome looking wrap?? HAHA! Check out the perfectly browned sides and how it’s all sealed tight! I must admit, one of my favorite things to do is cook Chris breakfast. I love it. It’s like the kitchen is my pretend cafe and he sits at the bar watching me cook.

breakfast wrap

Lunch was asian potstickers, this time baked til golden and crisp. And, oh my, was it super yummy. The potsticker wraps I got are from an asian market in Denver, CO. I bought a bunch the last time I was there and brought it back with me in an ice-pack. This particular wrap is very chewy and doughy…just the way I like it. I served it alongside a little bowl of soy sauce, siracha, and honey.

tofu and asparagus potstickers

So back to my PMS. I am craving asian food, asian food, asian food! The past couple days my cravings were for greek food and now all I want is sushi and tofu and brown rice. I was chatting with a friend earlier, who informed me she dined at Native Foods today for lunch and had their Hollywood Bowl: Ginger marinated and seared tofu spears over organic brown rice, steamed veggies, and organic greens in out tangy freshly roasted peanut sauce. OMG sounded soooo good! I was determined to have asian for dinner, and that I did.

I went to Whole Foods and got salmon avocado sushi with brown rice, a pack of marinated tofu, and something new I have never noticed before: macrobiotic soba noodle salad from M Cafe in Culver City, CA! I’ve heard great things about M Cafe but have never been so I was super stoked to find this at Whole Foods. Apparently, M Cafe is a macrobiotic restaurant. According to Wikipedia, the macrobiotic diet involves eating grains as a staple food supplemented with other foods like vegetables and beans, and avoiding the use of highly processed or refined foods. Sounds pretty darn healthy to me! I like!

I gobbled up the soba noodle salad (so freakin good) and had one of the two pieces of tofu. By the time I got to the sushi portion, I was getting kind of full so I ate only the sushi filling and left the rice on my plate. No worries, the brown rice can be served tomorrow with the leftover marinated tofu for another asian lunch 🙂

Oh, and I can’t forget to mention I had a HUGE bowl of chocolate peanut butter swirl ice cream from Purely Decadent. It was made with coconut milk, too! AAAGH!!! Way too good.

purely decadent chocolate peanut butter ice cream

1 comment

Leave a Reply

