LOVE ME SOME LEFTOVERS: Beans

I had a huge bowl of mixed beans leftover from the weekend so I figured I’d make a healthy hummus dip for a snack. I used to make Giada de Laurentiis’ white bean dip but I wanted something less oily and a little lighter without sacrificing taste. So I totally made up something and it came out really yummy. Here’s a rough estimate of the recipe, mainly because I just threw stuff together:

1 cup of beans (any kind you want. I used white bean, black bean, and garbanzo)

1/2 cup of extra firm tofu

2 tablespoons of olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Dried basil (found this in the pantry so decided to give it a shot)

Juice of half a lemon

2 small garlic cloves

*Give everything a whirl in the food processor, scraping down the sides with a spatula, and making sure it all gets blended evenly

Leftover beans

Leftover beans

Healthy bean dip

Healthy bean dip served with tortilla chips (for Chris) and sliced carrots (for me)

Speaking of beans, have you seen this video on YouTube – Brak’s I Love Beans? I personally find it hysterical but I guess that tells you how weird and bizarre I am…

2 comments
  1. Cookie said:

    Hey there. Just checked out your blog for the first time and loving your liquid diet on Saturday! Mine are usually spent the same way but with wine instead of Margaritas. I started watching 5 Ingredient Fix just recently and love it too! Claire’s definitely got a fun personality and great recipes!

  2. Amanda said:

    That bean dip looks awesome!!! I know Giada’s dip too. What is it about hummus/bean dips that make them so addicting??? Aloha:-) A

Leave a Reply

