Experiment: Day 5

Do you ever have those days when you have a goal in mind but the day gets away from you and before you know it, you haven’t met that goal or plan? Today was like that for me. I woke up with the intention of completing day 5 of my frozen entree experiment but unfortunately, I was only able to have one frozen meal today rather than the two I originally planned for. So I guess today counts as a half experiment day.

Work was so busy that all I ate were random snacks with lots of creamy, salted almond butter from Trader Joe’s.

Breakfast = quick cooking oatmeal with almond butter

Lunch = sliced apple with almond butter

Snack = cup of FAGE yogurt and a giant spoonful of almond butter

Dinner (finally, here we go!) = Amy’s Indian Mattar Tofu (curried peas and tofu with rice and dal)

IMG_0826

Cost = $4.99 from Whole Foods

Calories = 290 for the entire meal (not bad!)

Verdict: Considering how much I love Indian food, I was in for a shocking surprise to see how much of a portion of Indian food one should really eat. I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but the amount of curried peas and tofu was petite and the rice was under a cup I would say. These are definitely the right amount of portions, but when I think back to how much Indian food I usually eat, I had to shudder. This girl can definitely put down her food, and I would normally eat three to four times this amount if I had no sense of portion control. The taste was just OK….kind of bland and not one of the best meals I have tried from Amy’s. The rice was good and light but the tofu and peas didn’t have much punch to it. Oh well. I won’t be getting this again but Amy’s has so much variety, I’m eager to move on to the other stuff. I would give this 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

