Giada’s “Checca” Sauce

So my internet at my house isn’t working!! ARGH! After a frustrating week of a blinking DSL light on my modem, I finally called Verizon and was on the phone with CS for 45 min before they solved the issue. NOT!! My internet worked for an hour and then the light started blinking and my browsers wouldn’t load – WTH! Sooooo frustrated. I had to get back on the phone with customer support and after another freakin’ 45 minutes, they told me they’d have to send someone out on a workday “between 8am and 5pm” to check it out. Um. NO. I’m not about to take a day out of my work time to wait for Verizon to come and check the internet crap out. So I’ve decided to (gasp!!) disconnect my internet at my house. It’s a good thing and a bad thing. On one hand, it forces me not to sit infront of my computer and surf the web considering I spend 9 hours at work staring at the computer (soooo bad for my eyes. I need to stop!) But I LOOOVE the internet. I’m addicted. A night of fun for me is surfing the web and listening to iTunes with a vodka tonic – so so pathetic lol.

So anyway, that brings me to this post. Since I didn’t have internet last night, I watched some way old Giada de Laurentiis “Everyday Italian” DVDs (yeah, I own a set) back from when she was sweet and nice and cool. Now, I feel like she’s gotten a little too snobby and wears way, way, way too much makeup on TV. I watched an episode where she made a Checca sauce, which is basically a raw tomato sauce that you make in the food processor with fresh cherry tomatoes, green onion, garlic and parmesan. I got inspired and came home tonight to make some for Chris and I. We picked the tomatoes from the garden and at the very end, I sliced up some fresh bufala mozzarella to toss in. I served mine with kelp noodles and Chris ate his with spelt spaghetti. Here’s the recipe:

2 lbs cherry tomatoes, halved
3 sacallions (white and pale green parts only), coarsely chopped
1 (1oz) peice of Parmesan cheese, coarsely chopped
3 garlic cloves
8 fresh basil leaves
4 Tbsp oliveoil
4 oz fresh Mozzarella cheese, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1/2 tsp each salt and pepper (+ more to taste, if desired)

Serves 6-8 (serving size based on 8 1/2 cup servings)

  • In the bowl of a food processor, pulse the cherry tomatoes, scallions, garlic, Parmesan, basil and oil just until the tomatoes are coarsely chopped (do not puree). Transfer the sauce to a large bowl.
  • Stir in the mozzarella and 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper. Season with more salt and pepper to taste.
  • Toss the sauce immediately with your choice of freshly cooked pasta (preferably with a long, thin strand such as spaghettini or angel hair: the fresh flavors seem to go perrfectly with these delicate pastas)

IMG_1517

IMG_1521

Oh, here’s a last minute caprese salad I made 🙂 I don’t know about you but I’m a huge fan of yellow tomatoes!

IMG_1516

Leave a Reply

