Thai Green Papaya Salad

Just like Gena’s famous banana soft serve recipe (which I have mentioned repeatedly on this site), I am obsessed with the Thai green papaya salad that Amanda frequently talks about on her blog, The Grains of Paradise. I’m really into thai food lately so I was determined to make a thai green papaya salad today at home – thanks, Mandy! To my delight, Whole Foods actually carries fish sauce and palm sugar (two key ingredients in making thai green papaya salad) but sadly, the farmers market that usually sells green papaya was OUT of it 😦 Darn! So I substituted julienned carrot, zucchini and mung bean sprouts instead. I found a fantastic recipe for the salad here although you can google it and they are all pretty much the same. I have to say, it was a delicious combo and I crushed some pistachios on top since I didn’t have peanuts and threw in some roughly chopped cilantro. Soooo good and perfectly spicy. I will be making this much more often from now on. Oooh, I also purchased a juilenne peeler by Zyliss from Whole Foods today. It’s different from a regular peeler in that it peels your vegetable in paper thin skinny slices (kind of like a spiralizer but without the bulk of the equipment!) It was $7.99 but worth every penny. I have a feeling it’s going to be my new best friend in the kitchen.

Untitled-1

sldkfjlkdj

2 comments
  1. Jenn said:

    I LOVE Som Tum, it is amazing. I had it once in Thailand and my Thai friend trained me on how to make it properly…but I am excited to try a rendition that is within the lines so to speak (no peanuts 😦 etc.
    Thanks for the post!

  2. Amanda said:

    Wow! That looks awesome Melissa! Guess what! I can’t even find Green Papayas at the Farmer’s Markets here! How strange is that?? xo, A

Leave a Reply

