Restaurant Style Lunch At Work

My coworker saw my lunch today and exclaimed, “Ohmigod you’re so funny! That looks like something from a restaurant!” to which I smiled and responded, “Yep. That’s exactly what I want.” OK OK so it’s not exactly restaurant style but it’s close, right? Presentation-wise maybe? Flavor-wise, it was simple but delicious – just another reason why I love raw food. You learn to appreciate the flavors of fresh and seasonal produce so much more that you can do without the oils and the dressings and the sauces. Don’t get me wrong, though, I love dressings and sauces but for me, a salad dressed with some lime juice and sea salt works just as well. So here is my lunch: a bed of mesclun greens with sliced bell pepper, avocado and a couple of Ak-Mak crackers because they are so tasty and provide the perfect “crunch” that I like with my salads. I know the crackers are not raw but frankly, who cares? It’s more important to enjoy your meal than to stick to rules and regulations. I brought this salad plate from home because even though I was at my desk for lunch (as I’m sure many of you are as well), I wanted to have a pleasurable dining experience. Call me dorky if you want 🙂

IMG_0624

2 comments
  1. That’s totally NOT dorky! I do the same thing. Sitting down to eat a beautifully presented dish is so much more enjoyable and forces you to slow down to eat because you don’t want to just dig in and scarf it down…you want to savor every moment.

  2. Amanda said:

    That looks REALLY good! I think I need to go pick me some avocados this week! Love the crackers:-) Aloha!

Leave a Reply

