Mad For Macaroons…And Other Sweets

This morning, I got baker’s itch and decided to test out a recipe from Raw Food, Real World by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis for their chocolate macaroons. Though baking wasn’t required for this raw dish, it did ask for a dehydrator and I had just borrowed my friend’s to use so it was perfect timing. The dehydrator I borrowed is no Excalibur brand but the machine has been fairly quiet and SUPER easy to clean. I whipped up the simple concoction for the chocolate macaroons this morning, which called for shredded coconut, agave syrup, cocoa powder, vanilla, coconut butter, and salt. I have been dehydrating the pint sized balls for the past 13+ hours (the recipe calls for anywhere from 12 to 24 hrs) but I just couldn’t resist whipping one out for tonight’s dessert. I also made my own “Lara Bar” – shredded coconut, chopped cashews, dates and some coconut butter, which I flattened into a tart dish and froze. It came out so delicious and easy to slice. I presented them both alongside Gena’s banana soft serve and a spoonful of fresh berries from the farmers market (which Chris threw into his side of the soft serve). If you’re wondering why the sweet tooth tonight, I have three letters for you: P.M.S.

IMG_0269

IMG_0271

IMG_0329

IMG_0337

…speaking of sweets, did I mention I also baked more blueberry muffins today? Chris takes them to work and leaves them on his desk to snack on (or to lure other coworkers into his office!)

IMG_0263

IMG_0272

1 comment
  1. Pumpkin- high in fiber and low in calories, pumpkin packs a fortune of disease-fighting nutrients, including potassium, pantothenic acid, magnesium, and vitamins
    C and E. So it has a less full bodied flavor than tamari and it has a larger alcohol
    content which isn’t necessarily a problem but there’s less flavor
    to it and since it has wheat in it people with wheat allergies and people
    with gluten intolerance which is a big percentage of the population cannot
    consume it. Not much research has been done to prove that this is the case though.

Leave a Reply

