I’ve Been Food Poisoned

I know this might be TMI but I got food poisoning last night after watching the premiere of Entourage. I had dinner around 8pm (bbq’d shrimp and asparagus) and before that noshed on an appetizer of a bay shrimp salad and portobello mushroom topped with marinara and melted cheese. Everything was made at home, the shrimp we bought at Whole Foods and cooked through all the way. But man, around 9:30pm I could tell that my body wasn’t feeling right and the food wasn’t settling properly. I’ll skip the details but let’s just say I didn’t stop visiting the porcelain god until 1:30am. It was a nightmare. If it’s any indication of what happened to me, check out this youtube video of the Family Guy Puke-A-Thon. I couldn’t help but add screenshots. I know this is going to be super disgusting but, hey, I find Family Guy soooooo freakin’ hilarious. Anyway, I apologize for the disturbing images but for goodness sake, they’re cartoons 🙂

p3

p2

See the agony in his face?? Yeah, that was me all night.

p1

All laughs aside, food poisoning can be serious, and even fatal. So ALWAYS WASH YOUR HANDS and clean all your utensils. I know sometimes you just can’t prevent a contaminated piece of fish or something, but take as much precaution as possible, especially when eating at home. Here’s some info that I gathered from healthscout.com.

Causes and risk factors include viruses, bacteria and parasites. Toxic agent include poisonous mushrooms, improperly prepared exotic foods, or pesticides on fruits and vegetables (hmmmm, more reason to wash those veggies with baking soda!) The food usually becomes contaminated due to poor sanitation or prep work as well as improperly packaged food stored at the wrong temp.

Symptoms can include any of the following: diarrhea, watery stools, abdominal cramps, nausea, vomiting, and fever. Hey, it might be gross but I’m just keepin’ it real.

How do you treat food poisoning? Lots of liquids to stay hydrated, tons of water and for your next meal or two, have a bland diet of rice or bread…just so it settles your stomach and absorbs all the messy acid. I cracked open a fresh coconut this morning and chugged coconut water, knowing that all its electrolytes would help to heal me.

Quick rundown, though, of the food I ate that night….sigh.

“Caprese” salad with sundried tomatoes, goat cheese, basil and truffle oil drizzled on top

IMG_0343

Portobello mushroom topped with marinara sauce and melted cheese, then sliced into quarters to resemble pizza.

IMG_0347

Grilled skewers of shrimp dressed with lime juice, salt, and pepper and a side of grilled asparagus. I was halfway done when I remembered to take a picture.

IMG_0352

2 comments
  1. Fanny Yan said:

    Too cute and too funny!

  2. chris said:

    I also get sick from Portobellos. It has happened to me several times in several different states. I did not put 2 and 2 together until speaking to my mom who told me she gets horribly sick from eating them.

    I don’t know what causes it but I sure stear clear of the things now!

Leave a Reply

