Baking Soda

So this morning I took my dad grocery shopping at Whole Foods. Now that I’m juicing every morning, my dad has seen a vast improvement in my facial coloring. His exact words were, “Mel! You looks so much healthier now! That ash gray skin tone of yours is gone!” So now he has been juicing and is noticing his skin is getting creamier, more glowy and younger looking. No joke! I kid you not!

I know veggies are pretty straightforward but my dad wanted to see what I was juicing exactly every morning. So to help him learn his ABCs of veggies, we marched into WF armed with a grocery list. I educated him on the benefits of kale, spinach, dandelion greens and how vital they are in juices (just based on my own experience, I’m no MD.) The mix sounds kind of gross, I know, but it tastes soooo good with lemon and ginger and something sweet like beets or carrots. Anyway, I’m totally getting off track with this story but while we were in the car driving home, my dad goes “Did you know you can wash your vegetables with baking soda? Apparently, it gets rid of the pesticides.” Really? I had NO idea. So I came home, hopped on GOOGLE, and sure enough washing your veggies with a pot of water and 3 – 4 tablespoons of baking soda helps get rid of the chemicals and pesticides still lingering on fruits and veggies.

Brilliant! Thanks, Dad! Looks like we both learned something new today 🙂

baking-soda

3 comments
  1. E A said:

    Hey Mello:

    That is tres cool that you can post an immediate experience and share out the benefits of good, healthy practice. Definitely need to wash the pesticides and chemicals out of the green leafy veggies!@#$%

  2. kohlline said:

    Really interesting. I heard this before but wasn’t sure of it at all.
    Thank you for sharing

    • melissa said:

      Thanks for reading! Appreciate it 🙂

Leave a Reply

