Another Reason I Love LA

I grew up in Redondo Beach so I consider the South Bay my true hometown even though I now reside in Brentwood (or Rentwood for that matter – it’s like freakin’ apartment row over there since it’s right next to UCLA.) Growing up in Redondo Beach meant I had easy access to the other fun beaches, like Hermosa and Manhattan (Manhattan being my favorite because I worked there all throughout high school and it’s this tight community where everyone learns your name and they treat you like family.)

So another reason I love LA other than our awesome awesome weather, rich cultural diversity, and array of good eats? Well, the cool stuff the different cities have to offer – let’s take Manhattan Beach, for example. Turns out the city of Manhattan Beach offers free composting workshops to their residents! I had no idea until I saw the banner over the street. If you live in the area and have been clueless about this and want to learn more about composting and helping the environment, here is the info:

2009 Composting Class Schedule
May 2, 2009 (done)
July 18, 2009
October 10, 2009

Time: 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Question and Answer session at the end)
Location: Manhattan Beach Botanical Garden in Polliwog Park (on Peck Avenue, just north of Manhattan Beach Boulevard)

The City of Manhattan Beach offers three free one hour composting workshops. During the workshops, Manhattan Beach residents may purchase Biostack Bins or Worm Composting Bins at a great discount .

Leave a Reply

