Darn good granola

Ever since being diagnosed with gestational diabetes I’ve had to really watch my carb intake. Each woman is different in how her body breaks down carbs and sugar but unfortunately, my body can’t seem to handle much starch or grains without a bonkers glucose reading. What I really miss are the simple things like a slice of toast with butter and jelly or the occasional bowl of granola. Ah, granola. I’ve been craving granola for awhile now so decided to take matters into my own hands and make it from scratch instead of buying it at the store, which can be loaded with too much sugar.

I was so thrilled when I discovered Gwyneth Paltrow’s recipe for quinoa granola but I must have screwed up somehow because it turned out horrible. After a few minutes my granola was burning in the suggested 400F degree oven heat. Not sure what went wrong but I threw the entire batch out. At the same time, my Ottolenghi Cookbook had arrived in the mail and (yay!) there was a recipe for granola in the back. I’ve heard Ottolenghi’s granola is divine and I was so eager to try it but there are oats. So why not combine the best of both worlds? Make Ottolenghi’s granola with quinoa flakes instead of oats :-)

If you don’t have his cookbook, you can find the recipe for the granola here. Sorry, you’ll have to have a conversion chart handy if you’re in the states but it’s worth it. For my own version, I used whatever nuts I had in the pantry and added sunflower and flax seeds. I also omitted all the dried fruit because that’s banned from my GD diet. But it’s still so delicious and I store my granola in cute little mason jars :) I hope you enjoy it!

-2

I’ll have it with fresh berries every now and then in a bowl of yummy almond milk :) Delicious! I can’t have too much since quinoa is still a carb but it’s better for my body than having the oat kind.

-3

2 comments
  1. Thanks for the link to my blog and isn’t this granola divine? I make variations on it every couple of weeks and it’s wonderful with coconut oil too. I’m posting a recipe on Monday that only uses apple syrup as a sweetener which you might be interested in? x

    • melissa said:

      It is so delicious! Looking forward to your recipe on Monday! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

