DIY wedding bouquet

For all you ladies who are going the DIY route for your wedding or elopement, I urge you to try making your own wedding bouquet. There is something charming and pretty about a bouquet that’s not overly done by the florist. I was inspired by a wedding in the French countryside where the bride picked a few poppies near the church and tied the stems together with a piece of lace fabric given to her by her mother. It was incredibly sweet and let’s not forget, inexpensive!

The morning of our elopement I went to Whole Foods for coffee and flowers. They didn’t have a large selection of blooms but these brightly hued dahlias stood out to me. I liked that their stems were clean as I planned on wrapping the flowers with a piece of lace from an old Gryphon jacket I had (I’m resourceful ha ha!) Using a step-by-step tutorial from Flower Girl NYC, I cut the stems a little shorter and tied them tightly together with the lace. I wanted it to look casual and non-fussy.

Here is what they looked like on our special day. I am so glad I made this little bouquet…even if it was for an elopement. Jill Thomas, our photographer, captured this beautifully in the 3pm warm sunlight that we were so blessed with that day.

2 comments
  1. Weddings are never complete without a colorful set of wedding flowers to complete the romantic atmosphere. I love what you did with the floral arrangements. Well done!

    • melissa said:

      Thank you! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

